2 Stripe White

May 11th, 2016

My second stripe came by surprise. I had decided to compete in July, so I took my training to the next level. At this time I was able to see and do a couple of basic moves and complete a submission in rolling every so often. The hours at job were so lax that I was able to train at the afternoon and night class on Mondays and Wednesdays. Going back and counting, I was training 8x per week and working 40-45 hours. The free time I had was used for drills I could do in the apartment, watching BJJ YouTube videos on techniques and motivation, eating, sleeping, and preparing for the next training sessions.

My Meal Plan

I also took my diet to another level to lose weight but still not have to avoid the majority of foods and have energy throughout the day. Research was done through podcasts, bodybuilding.com, and testosterone nation articles and I landed on the Ketogenic diet. The “diet” (I put this in quotes because there’s no such thing as a diet in my mind) had no strict meal plan attached to it, but the down side of it was that I felt like crap for the first 3 – 5 days.

Getting my body into a state of ketosis, using up stored up fat for energy instead of ingested carbohydrates, takes a couple days of sticking to a more extreme low-card diet. I mapped my macros out to be 10% carbohydrate, 60% fat, and 40% proteins. There were some days where I hit pretty damn close to those numbers, but was always within a couple of percentages. The down side of the first 3 – 5 days were the headaches, cravings, low energy, drowsiness, and just feeling straight up miserable.

After my body adjusted to my new way of eating, my energy levels shot up, weight consistently dropped, headaches went away, and I was no longer miserable. I had stopped eating rice, ate 10oz – 12oz of ground beef with some BBQ sauce twice a day, 6 or so eggs and cantaloupe. I’m sure there were other foods I ate here and there, but that was the jist of my meal plan.

Kron Gracie.jpg


Previous BJJ blogs:

 

Leave a Reply

